Appointments and people moves


A cabinet reshuffle has seen Prime Minister Gordon Brown appoint new Secretaries of State at the Department of Health (DH) and the Department for Work & Pensions (DWP).

Andy Burnham leaves his post at the Department of Culture Media and Sport to become Health Secretary, succeeding Alan Johnson who is now Home Secretary. He will be supported by Gillian Merron and Mike O’Brien who have been appointed as health ministers, joining existing ministers Ann Keen, Phil Hope and Lord Ara Darzi.

Merron, MP for Lincoln, moves from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office where she served as Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State while O’Brien, MP for North Warwickshire, leaves his post as Minister of State for Energy. Ben Bradshaw leaves the DH to take over from Burnham as Secretary of State at the Department of Culture, Media and Sport and Dawn Primarolo replaces Beverley Hughes as Children’s Minister.

The new Secretary of State for Work and Pensions is Yvette Cooper. Jim Knight joins the DWP as Minister of State for Employment and Welfare Reform. Angela Eagle joins the department as Minister of State for Pensions and the Ageing Society. Helen Goodman joins as Parliamentary under secretary (Commons). Jonathan Shaw remains as Minister for Disabled People. Lord McKenzie of Luton remains parliamentary under secretary (Lords).

Bupa has appointed Professor Sir John Tooke and Lawrence Churchill to its board as non-executive directors, with effect from 1 July 2009. Churchill (right) has over 20 years’ board level experience in the insurance industry, having previously been chief executive at Zurich Financial Services, UK and International Life, and prior to that, chairman and managing director of Unum, the European arm of the world’s largest disability insurer. He is currently chairman of the Pension Protection Fund and is the senior independent director of Good Energy Group and the Tunbridge Wells Equitable Friendly Society. He is also a member of the board for Actuarial Standards. In addition to joining the Bupa board as a non-executive director, Churchill will become a member of Bupa’s Audit Committee. In addition to his board role, Professor Sir John Tooke will also serve as chairman of Bupa’s Medical Advisory Panel. He is currently dean of the Peninsula College of Medicine and Dentistry and chairman of the Medical Schools Council and the UK Healthcare Education Advisory Committee. He is also a member of the National Institute for Health Research Advisory Board, the Universities UK Health and Social Care Policy Committee and the NHS Evidence Advisory Board.

Jardine Lloyd Thompson Private Clients, a division of JLT Benefit Solutions Ltd (JLT), has appointed Richard Williams as a senior consultant in its Leeds Office. Most recently Williams has worked at Beaumont Robinson Limited in Bradford as a director and financial planner. He plans shortly to achieve his Chartered Financial Planner status and has over two decades of experience in financial services.

comments powered by Disqus